American Gelbvieh Juniors Elect Leadership at National Show

During the American Gelbvieh Junior Association (AGJA) annual meeting held during the 2011 AGJA Twister Classic in Kearney, Neb., AGJA members voted to fill five two-year positions with the AGJA Board of Directors for the 2011-2012 term.

Newly elected directors were Grace Hammer of Wallace, Kan., Christian Hojer of Lake Preston, S.D., and Garrett Teeter of Mt. Ulla, N.C. Hammer is the daughter of Lyle and Christy Hammer and attends Wallace County High School. Hojer, the son of Allen and Pam Hojer, attends Lake Area Technical Institute. Teeter is the son of Walter and Lee Teeter and attends the North Carolina State University.

Re-elected to second terms were Dustin Aherin, Phillipsburg, Kan., and Seth Arp, Arlington, Wisc. Aherin is the son of Dennis and Joyce Aherin and is a sophomore studying animal science at Allen Community College. Arp, son of Steve and Betty Arp, is a student at the University of Wisconsin – Whitewater studying advertising.

Following the annual meeting, the AGJA Board selected officers for the 2011-2012 term.

Presiding will be Dustin Aherin and serving as vice president will be Justin Taubenheim, Amherst, Neb., son of Mike and Renee Taubenheim.

Selected as vice president of leadership development is Seth Arp. Appointed to the secretary position is John Shearer, Canton, Kan. Shearer is the son of John and Carla Shearer. Serving as treasurer is Van Tucker of Portis, Kan., son of Greg and Sandi Tucker. Janelle Hayek, daughter of Barb Hayek and the late Tony Hayek of Clutier, Iowa will fill the role of ex-officio. Cole Buffo, son of Steve and Anna Buffo of Lansing, Kans., will continue his term as a director.

The American Gelbvieh Junior Association serves more than 500 members coast to coast, providing leadership opportunities, scholarships, and competition. For more information about AGJA, Gelbvieh, or AGA services visit or call 303-465-2333.


Photo caption: The members of the 2011-2012 American Gelbvieh Junior Association Board of Directors are (seated from left) Van Tucker, Kansas, treasurer; Seth Arp, Wisconsin, vice president of leadership development; Dustin Aherin, Kansas, president; Justin Taubenheim, Nebraska, vice president; John Shearer, Kansas, secretary; (standing from left) Grace Hammer, Kansas; Christian Hojer, South Dakota; Cole Buffo, Kansas; Garrett Teeter, North Carolina; Janelle Hayek, Iowa, ex-officio.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply