Media Releases

Retallick Accepts Director of Member Programs Position at American Gelbvieh Association

Westminster, Colo. – Kelli Retallick has served as the data services coordinator for the American Gelbvieh Association (AGA) for more than a year and has recently accepted the position of director of member programs. In her time at the AGA, Retallick has proved to be capable of outstanding leadership among staff, dedication to the AGA and skill in developing association programs.

Recently the AGA has changed the structure of the staff to better accommodate member programs for both the AGA and the American Gelbvieh Junior Association (AGJA).  Retallick’s role as director of member programs will encompass beneficial programs for the AGA as well as the AGJA. Her  responsibilities include accuracy of the online registry, administering the Smart Select Service, development of new programs and coordinating junior activities to name only a few.

Retallick earned her bachelor’s degree in animal science at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She then went on to Kansas State University to complete her master’s degree in animal breeding and genetics.  This background makes her a perfect fit to continue to develop programs for AGA members and customers as it pertains to database service and breed improvement as well as the AGA’s new Smart Select Service.

Growing up, Retallick was involved in her family’s registered cattle operation and when time allows she continues to be involved as much as possible. Retallick also served on the National Junior Angus Association Board of Directors and brings a unique perspective to the AGJA through that experience of serving on a junior board.

“I am really excited about taking on this new adventure,” says Retallick. “I strongly believe that junior livestock associations can foster some of the best leaders in the industry. I hope I am able to foster that type of environment to build the next generation of leaders in the business.”

The Beef Improvement Federation (BIF) recognized the skill set Retallick possesses.   During the 2015 BIF Research Symposium and Convention in Biloxi, Mississippi, Retallick was asked to lend her expertise as a speaker on the topic of measuring feed efficiency.  BIF also recognized the new Smart Select Service that the AGA now offers commercial cattlemen and women; Retallick was instrumental in the development of that program.

“The AGA sources the most skilled talent in the industry to serve on the staff. Kelli is an example of those talented individuals the AGA seeks out and finds to work as a team for the improvement of the AGA,” says Myron G. Edelman, executive director of the AGA.  “Kelli will be an excellent resource for both our adult as well as the junior members.”

Retallick assumed her new role on January12, 2016. She can be reached at the AGA office at 303-465-2333 or via email at




American Gelbvieh Association Inducts Charles Clark to Hall of Fame


Charles Clark, Keldron, South Dakota, was inducted into the American Gelbvieh Association (AGA) Hall of Fame posthumously for 2016. The induction took place on Friday, December 11 during the awards luncheon at the 45th Annual AGA National Convention in Kansas City, Missouri. Charles’ family, including wife Peggy and children Amy, Clint, and Scot, were present at convention to accept the award.

Jim Beastrom, Pierre, South Dakota presented the Clark family with this award.

The AGA Hall of Fame recognizes individuals for their lasting contribution to the growth and development of the Gelbvieh breed. That contribution is through the influence of cattle they have bred, their breed promotion efforts, and leadership provided to the association.

Charles and Peggy Clark and their family owned Grand River Gelbvieh, where they started raising Gelbvieh cattle in 1973. Grand River Gelbvieh became an AGA member in 1975. The operation hosted their first production sale in 1979 and offered 24 registered bulls and 25 commercial females. At the time, no other operation had a production sale. The operation hosted an annual production sale until the complete dispersal of the 350-head ranch in 1990.

Clark was very progressive and used artificial insemination extensively in his operation, seeing the benefit of being able to make faster genetic progress. Once the ranch was established, Clark collected and marketed semen from his own bulls.

Clark was a community leader and served on the AGA Board of Directors and was president of the Association in 1983. In addition, he also served his community on the local school board, 4-H Leader’s Association, Farm Service Agency and rural electric boards.



Photo Caption: Jim Beastrom, Pierre, S.D., presented the Charles Clark family with the 2016 American Gelbvieh Association Hall of Fame award on behalf of Charles Clark. Left to right: Kathleen Clark, Scot Clark, Narcel Clark, Clint Clark, Jim Beastrom, Peggy Clark, Amy Clark Hauck

American Gelbvieh Association Elects Board of Directors

Members of the American Gelbvieh Association (AGA) elected five candidates to serve three-year terms on the AGA Board of Directors. The election took place during the annual membership meeting at the 45th Annual AGA National Convention “Moving at the Speed of Change” in Kansas City, Missouri, December 11, 2015.

Newly elected board members are Dennis Gustin, Mandan, North Dakota; Andrea Murray, Kingfisher, Oklahoma; Randy Sienknecht, Gladbrook, Iowa and Jeff Swanson, Oxford, Nebraska. Re-elected to serve a second term was Scott Starr, Stapleton, Nebraska.

The Board of Directors also elected induvial to serve in leadership positions on the 2016 AGA Executive Committee. Neal Pearson was re-elected for a second term as American Gelbvieh Association President.

Elected as vice president was Scott Starr. Duane Strider, Asheboro, North Carolina was elected as secretary and Grant Thayer, Ramah, Colorado was elected as treasurer.

Other members of the AGA Board of Directors are: Emily Griffiths, Kendallville, Indiana; Bob Hart, Kansas City, Kansas; David Martin, Judsonia, Arkansas; Dustin Rippe, Hubbell, Nebraska; Lowell Rogers, Seminary, Mississippi and Walter Teeter, Mt. Ulla, North Carolina.

Retiring members of the 2015 AGA Board of Directors were Brian Dunn, St. John, Kansas; Ronnie Rogers, Mendon, Missouri; Gary Tilghman, Glasgow, Kentucky, and Dan Warner, Beaver City, Nebraska. The service of these four gentlemen to the association is greatly appreciated.



Photo caption: The American Gelbvieh Association elected directors and officer for 2016 during its national convention in Kansas City, Missouri. Front row (left to right): David Martin, Judsonia, Ark.; Secretary Duane Strider, Asheboro, N.C.; Vice President Scott Starr, Stapleton, Neb.; President Neal Pearson, Lake City, S.D.; Executive Director Myron Edelman, Westminster, Colo.; Treasurer Grant Thayer, Ramah, Colo.; Bob Hart, Kansas City, Kan.; Jeff Swason, Oxford, Neb.; Dennis Gustin, Mandan, N.D. Back row (left to right): Randy Sienknecht, Gladbrook, Iowa; Andrea Murray, Kingfisher, Okla.; Dustin Rippe, Hubbell, Neb.; Emily Griffiths, Kendallville, Ind.; Andy LeDoux, Angenda, Kan.; Lowell Rogers, Seminary, Miss.; Walter Teeter, Mount Ulla, N.C.