American Gelbvieh Junior Association Elects Leadership

2017-2018 Board_sm

Photo Caption: The American Gelbvieh Junior Association elected directors and officers for 2017-2018 during the annual meeting in Grand Island, Nebraska. Front row (left to right): Ex-officio Aubree Beenken, Buckingham, Iowa; Treasurer Caitlin Griffin, Westminster, S.C.; Kallie Mattison, Lamberton, Minn.; Secretary Grace Vehige, Bonnots Mill, Mo. Back row (left to right): Wyatt Forbes, DeSmet, S.D.; Grady Hammer, Wallace, Kan.; President Callahan Grund, Wallace, Kan.; Vice President Kyle Vehige, Bonnots Mill, Mo.; Vice President of Leadership and Development Jesse Henson, Canton, N.C.; Anna Ring, Oregon, Ill.

Members of the American Gelbvieh Junior Association (AGJA) elected five candidates to serve two-year terms and one candidate to serve a one-year term on the AGJA Board of Directors. The election was held at the 2017 Big Red Classic in Grand Island, Nebraska, on June 28, 2017.
The AGJA Board of Directors consists of nine AGJA members and one ex-officio member. Directors serve two-year terms and must be 16 years of age as of January 1, and many not have reached his or her 20th birthday as of January 1.
Newly elected board members are Wyatt Forbes, DeSmet, South Dakota, son of Troy and Pam Forbes; Grady Hammer, Wallace, Kansas, son of Lyle and Christy Hammer; Kallie Mattison, Lamberton, Minnesota, daughter of Scott and Sonia Mattison; Anna Ring, Oregon, Illinois, niece of Skyler and Annette Martin; Grace Vehige, Bonnots Mill, Missouri, daughter of Tom and Stacy Vehige. Callahan Grund, Wallace, Kansas, son of Jerry and Chrysanne Grund, was re-elected to serve a one-year term.
The Board of Directors also elected individuals to serve in leadership positions on the 2017-2018 AGJA Executive Committee. Callahan Grund was elected president. Kyle Vehige, Bonnots Mill, Missouri, son of Tom and Stacy Vehige, was elected vice president. Vice president of leadership and development is Jesse Henson, Canton, North Carolina, son of Donnie and Kelly Henson. Grace Vehige will serve as secretary. Caitlin Griffin, Westminster, South Carolina, granddaughter of Ricky and Judy Griffin, will serve as treasurer. Aubree Beenken, Buckingham, Iowa, daughter of Marc and Angie Beenken will serve the board as ex-officio.
Retiring members of the 2016-2017 Board of Directors were Tanner Aherin, Phillipsburg, Kansas, son of Dennis and Joyce Aherin; Sydney Bigger, Media, Illinois, daughter of Barry and Jody Bigger; Tiana Garcia, Las Animas, Colorado, daughter of Keith and Teresa Garcia; Carter Mitchell, Appleton City, Missouri, son of Kevin and Debbie Mitchell and Colton Spencer, Aurora, Missouri, son of Jim and Janella Spencer.